Zagal Moya Jose Heraclito

27 181 075


JOSE H. ZAGAL is Full-Professor, Faculty of Chemistry and Biology, University of Santiago de Chile,  Ph.D. in Chemistry Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA (1978) and was postdoctoral fellow at Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York in 1982. Invited Scientist, National University of La Plata, Argentina in 1991 and 1996  Invited Scientist, Federal University of Sao Carlos, Sao Paulo, Brazil 1992, 1995,  Invited Scientist, University of Fortaleza, Brazil 1997,  Brown & Williamson Visiting Scholar, University of Louisville, Kentucky 1996, Invited Professor, ESPCI, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 1997.

Prizes and distinctions 

He was an Organization of American States (OAS) Doctoral Fellow from 1979 to 1978. He was awarded by the President of Chile the Presidential Chair in Science in 1996 by a Committee chaired by Nobel Laureate in Chemistry Rudolph Marcus and including Physics Nobel Laureate David Gross and received the Silver Medal “University Merit” in 1998 and the Gold Medal in 2002 and the Manuel Bulnes Medal in 2013.  He was distinguished by Conicyt with the “Fondecyt Diploma” for being awarded more than 10 consecutive research grants without rejects in 2012. He was appointed Member of the Superior Council of Research of Conicyt by the President of Chile for the period 2010-2013. In 2014 he received the “Dr.Alberto Zanlungo” Prize.  He was awarded The Fellow Medal from the International Society of Electrochemistry and the Fellow Medal from The Electrochemical Society, both in 2014.


He has published over 198 papers, 6 book chapters and 3 patents. H impact factor= 32 (Web of Science), H=35 (Scopus) and H= 38 (Google Scholar) with more than 5020 citations. He is coauthor of three books. He has presented more than 300 papers in national and international meetings, including some plenary and invited lectures.

Editorial Boards 

He has served in the  Editorial Boards of several publications: Journal of Applied Electrochemistry (1988-2010), Journal of the Chilean Chemical Society (1984-2007) Electrocatalysis, (Springer) (2009-2015) and is presently member of the Editorial Board of:  Journal of Solid State Electrochemistry (Springer), of the  International Journal of Electrochemistry (Endawi), Electrochemistry Communications (Elsevier),  Journal of the Serbian Chemical Society,  Electrochemical Energy Technology  (De Goutyer) and of Chimica Nova (Brasil)


Línea de investigación: 
Grados académicos /educación: 
Doctor of Philosophy (Mención Química), Case Western Reserce University, USA, 1978.
Químico, Universidad de Chile, 1973.